Greek Vowel


There are seven vowels in Greek:
(1) α
(2) ε
(3) η
(4) ι
(5) ο
(6) υ
(7) ω

Of these ε and ο are always short, and take about half the time to pronounce as η and ω, which are always long.

A diphthong combines two vowels in one syllable. The second vowel is or ι or υ. The diphthongs are αι, ει, αυ, ευ, ου, ηυ, and, υι. ι written below the line of α, η, and ω is called iota subscript. These are improper diphthongs.

This entry was posted in Grammar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.