Greek Has 7 Tenses

There are seven tenses in the Greek:-

  1. Present,
  2. Imperfect,
  3. Aorist,
  4. Future,
  5. Perfect,
  6. Pluperfect,
  7. Future Perfect.

Those tenses which denote present or future time are called Primary tenses. Those tenses which denote past time are called Secondary tenses. Since the time denoted by a tense varies with the particular use of the tense, no fixed line of division can be drawn between the two classes of tenses. In the Indicative the Present and Perfect are usually, and the Future and Future Perfect are always, Primary tenses; the Imperfect, Aorist, and Pluperfect are usually Secondary tenses.


This entry was posted in Grammar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.